The Constituency

Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

From the ‘Wales Year Book’ with permission of Dr Dennis Balsom

The Constituency of Carmarthen east and Dinefwr was formed when the Boundary Commission divided the former county seat of Carmarthen. A constituency with one of the most colourful political histories in Wales, it’s previous MP’s for Carmarthen included Lady Megan Lloyd George and the first Plaid Cymru – The Party of Wales M.P. Gwynfor Evans. The new eastern division still has a large rural population, but the addition of part of the Amman Valley, the old anthracite coalfield, intensified the political balance.

The General election in 2001 saw a fierce contest between Adam Price, one of the Plaid Cymru’s brightest young candidates and Alan Williams, the sitting M.P.. The competitiveness of the contest overcame the general level of voter apathy and Carmarthen East and Dinefwr recorded the third highest turnout in Wales and saw the election of Adam Price as the new M.P..

Plaid Cymru won the Assembly seat in 1999 to return Rhodri Glyn Thomas as the new AM and he comfortably retained his seat in 2003. Again the intensity of the contest gave Carmarthen East and Dinefwr one of the highest turnouts of the election.

Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

Carmarthenshire County electoral divisions: (Population 52,741)

Abergwili, Ammanford, Betws, Cenarth, Cilycwm, Cynwyl Gaeo, Garnant, Glanamman, Gorslas, Llanddarog, Llandeilo, Llandovery, Llandybie, Llanegwad, Llanfihangel Aberbythych, Llanfihangel-ar-Arth, Llangadog, Llangeler, Llangunnor, Llangyndeyrn, Llanybydder, Manordeilo and Salem, Penygroes, Pontamman, Quarter Bach, St.Ishmael, Saron.

2010 General Election

Candidate Party Votes %
Jonathan Edwards Plaid Cymru 13,546 35.6
Christine Gwyther Labour Party 10,065 25.5
Andrew Morgan Conservative Party 8,506 22.4
William Powell Liberal Democrats 4,609 12.1
John Atkinson UK Independence Party 1,285 3.4
PC Majority 3,481 9.2
Turnout 38,011 72.6

2005 General Election

Candidate Party Votes % +/-%
Adam Price Plaid Cymru 17,561 45.9 +3.5
Ross Hendry Labour Party 10,843 28.3 -7.3
Suzy Davies Conservative Party 5,235 13.7 +0.8
Julianna Hughes Liberal Democrats 3,719 9.7 +2.3
Mike Squires UK Independence Party 661 1.7 0.0
Sid Whitworth Legalise Cannabis Alliance 272 0.7 0.7
PC Majority 6,718 17.5
Turnout 38,291 71.6 +1.2

2001 General Election

Adam Price Plaid Cymru 16,130 42.35 %
Dr Alan Williams Labour Party 13,540 35.55 %
David Thomas Conservative Party 4,912 12.90 %
Dorian Evans Liberal Democrats 2,850 7.48 %
Mike Squires UK Independence Party 656 1.72 %
PC Majority 2,590

1997 General Election (old Boundaries)

Williams, A. Labour Party 17,907 42.91 %
Thomas, R. Plaid Cymru 14,457 34.64 %
Hayward, E. Conservative Party 5,022 12.03 %
Hughes, J. Liberal Democrats 3,150 7.55 %
Humphries-Evans, I. Referendum Party 1,196 2.87 %
Lab Majority 3,450